Family Division

By SPC Erik Woessner, Army Brat

I guess one of the most memorable memories I have of the military would be around the time that my parents were considering getting a divorce. I remember that I’d been crying. After dinner my dad came over and sat down with me and tried to explain the situation. That was one of those moments that I will always remember.

We were at Fort Jackson at the time and this is back when he was in charge of the 48th EOD. I was probably 11 or 12 at the time. I was crying and saying I didn’t want to have a new daddy. I remember he was still wearing his uniform. He said, that “no matter what happens, I will always be your father.”

I look back now and realize that the reason that was happening was because of the stress the military put on my parents, especially on my mom because she was expected at the time to be the typical Army wife and pretty much put everything she wanted to do on hold for my father’s career. But at the time, I really didn’t understand what was happening, accepting that the Army was somehow involved. So for me as a kid, I felt that the Army was literally taking my family and tearing us apart.


Leave a Reply

