The Army in Transition—How I Can Help

By Erik, age 8   Grade 3

North Springs Elementary School

1993 Army Community Service Essay Contest Winner

 

 

The Army is changing in many ways. It is not just fighting. It helps the starving people in Somalia survive. It sends them food and clothing.

 

The military is getting smaller. The reason it is getting smaller is because we do not need so many soldiers. But we need some.  If we didn’t have soldiers, wars could come and destroy us.

 

I can do a lot for the Army. I try not to cry when my father goes away, because I know why he’s going and he’ll be back some day. I help by helping around the house. If my dad knows I’m helping, he’ll feel better and will do his job better.

Leave a Reply

