Maids Quarters

By Kim Medders

photo

Here is the front of an apartment building in the Marshall Heights military housing area in Kitzingen Germany around 1957. This is an example of the standard living situation for most stationed in Germany with the exception of the balcony. Some had balconies; many did not. Those without balconies had picture windows instead.

My Dad took this photo from the maid’s quarters. The maid’s quarters were on the fourth floor with the dormer windows. Originally set up as living areas for the German maids employed by servicemen, by the late ’50s and early ’60s, they had become temporary quarters for those waiting for an apartment to become available. I liked staying in the maid’s quarters because they were huge. There were 10 rooms with a long hallway to play in.

There was a small kitchen area and a common bathroom area. I don’t remember them ever being used as maid’s quarters in the time we lived overseas due to the tightness of housing during the cold war era and as the economy became better for the Germans, Americans could not afford maids anymore.

In Karlsruhe when I was 13, some other kids and I discovered a way to break into one of the vacant ones in our apartment building and turned it into our club house…until we got caught by some officer making an inspection! The guy threatened us with the MP’s but let us go. He didn’t even tell my dad which was really cool of him…I guess he thought he had scared the shit out of me and he was right!

 

10470926_794519790568335_8144413014613689323_n

A German horse cart passing through the Marshall Heights military housing area in Kitzingen 1958. The American kids seem fascinated with it.

2 Comments on “Maids Quarters”

  1. ashleecowles says:

    I love this! The housing in Wurzburg was almost the same…my parents let me move my bedroom to the maid’s quarters when I was in high school!

  2. Gary Ladue says:

    As a typical large BRAT family, we loved living in the “maids quarters” for several months, then we moved to 3rd floor, with balcony. We were in Vogelweh, Kaiserslautern 1965 to 68.


Leave a Reply

