Living at the Statue of Liberty

11953110_1039421466069114_7025127878012851906_n

Friends who lived with us at the Statue of Liberty in 1937. It was then referred to as Bedloes Island. Military families, who lived at nearby Governors Island were sometimes quartered in homes st the Statue. Though only four, at this time I do have memories of playing with my friends and riding the ferry boat. I have seen the Statue many times, when traveling overseas and visiting New York. It always feels very familiar to me. Not many believe me when I tell them I once lived there. —Hudson Phillips

Leave a Reply

